Hoya-Spartan Scholars Faculty & Labs


Confirmed Faculty 2019



Bill Batterman

Associate Director of Debate at Woodward Academy

Bill is one of high school debate’s most passionate coaches and summer workshop instructors. He has led the Hoya-Spartan Scholars program since its inception in 2012 and is returning to Georgetown for the seventh consecutive summer. Competitively, Bill has coached champions and top speakers at many of the country’s most prestigious tournaments. He has been honored with the WDCA Coach of the Year Award, the Acolyte Award, the NDCA Service Award, and the NDCA Educator of the Year Award and has served on the NDCA Board, the TOC Advisory Committee, and the boards of the WDCA and GFCA. He tries to coach debate like John Wooden coached basketball: by emphasizing hard work, preparation, character, and precise attention to the smallest details. Like Coach Wooden, he believes that “If you prepare properly, you may be outscored but you will never lose.” Students that have worked with him during the summer celebrate his enthusiasm, work ethic, topic knowledge, and complete dedication to their improvement.


Will Repko

Head Debate Coach at Michigan State University

Will joined Michigan State University’s staff after coaching at East Lansing High School where his teams won several Michigan State Championships and the 1995 NCFL National Championship. Will’s success has continued in his college coaching career where he has catapaulted Michigan State to an era of national prominence and excellence,including national championships in 2004, 2006, and 2010. Will was named the 2000 College Coach of the Year.


Abby Schirmer

Debate Coach at Marist School

Abby Schirmer is the head policy debate coach at Marist School in Atlanta, GA.  During her years of coaching, she has advanced students to the late elimination rounds or has won nearly every national tournament in the country including; Wake Forest, Greenhill, St. Marks, the Glenbrooks, MBA, Emory, Harvard and the NDCA.  She coached the National Debate Coaches’ Association Baker Award winners in 2013 and 2014.  In 2011, she was named Rising Star by the NDCA, an award given to the top debate coach in the country in their first through third years of coaching. Abby has worked at the Spartan Debate Institutes since 2004.  Prior to coaching high school, Abby debated for four years at Michigan State University.


Maggie Berthiaume

Director of Debate at Woodward Academy

This is Maggie’s fourth year working with the Hoya-Spartan Scholars. As debater for Dartmouth College, she reached the quarterfinals of the NDT, the semifinals of CEDA Nationals and received two first-round bids to the NDT. She is a 2012 inductee to the Key Coaches of the Barkley Forum at Emory University. Maggie has coached NDCA National Champions, the champions of numerous national tournaments including St. Mark’s, and the top speaker at the NDCA Championship and the Tournament of Champions. Her teams have twice won the Georgia State Championship. She is also the former Director of Debate at Chattahoochee and Lexington.


Jeremy Hammond

Head Debate Coach at Pine Crest High School

Jeremy Hammond is the Head Debate Coach for Pine Crest School in Fort Lauderdale, Florida.  Jeremy Debate for Michigan State University from 2004-2008.  Jeremy has coached numerous teams to elimination rounds of every major national tournament his school has attended including the Tournament of Champions.  He has coached his teams to three Florida State champions and also won the Florida policy debate coach of the year award three times.